Posted by: Trinity ChristChurch Lutheran Parish | April 7, 2012

Maundy Thursday April 5

Powerpoint:

April 05 MaundyThursday

The Three Days to Easter

 The first service:

 Maundy Thursday

 April 5th , 2012

This Service Order is reproduced from Church Rites:  Lutheran Church of Australia, Open Book Publishers, 1994.  Permission for use assigned to Lutheran Congregations

The congregation and the minister enter in silence.

M: In the name of the Father and of the Son † and of the Holy Spirit.

C: Amen

Go to dark Gethsemane

LH 73                                            CAL 293

James Montgomery 1771-1854, alt.

 1. Go to dark Gethsemane,

if you feel the tempter’s power;

your Redeemer’s conflict see,

watch with him one bitter hour:

turn not from his griefs away,

learn from Jesus Christ to pray.

 

2. Follow to the judgment-hall,

see the Lord of life accused;

O the wormwood and the gall,

O the pains of Christ abused!

Shun not suffering, shame, or loss;

learn from him to bear the cross.

 

3. Calvary’s mournful mountain climb;

there, adoring at his feet,

see that miracle of time,

God’s own sacrifice complete:

‘It is finished’, hear the cry;

learn from Jesus Christ to die.

M: Be merciful to me, O God, because of your constant love.

C: Because of your great mercy wipe away my sins!

M: Wash away all my evil

C: and make me clean from my sin!

M: I  recognise my faults;

C: I am always conscious of my sins.

M: I have sinned against you — only against you —

C: and done what you consider evil.

M: So you are right in judging me;

C: you are justified in condemning me.

M: I have been evil from the day I was born;

C: from the time I was conceived, I have been sinful.

M: Sincerity and truth are what you require;

C: fill my mind with your wisdom.

M: Remove my sin and I will be clean;

C: wash me and I will be whiter than snow.

M: Let me hear the sounds of joy and gladness;

C: and though you have crushed me and broken me, I will be happy once again.

M: Close your eyes to my sins

C: and wipe out all my evil.

M: Glory to the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit,

C: as it was in the beginning is now, and will be for ever.  Amen.

M: Let us confess our sins to God our Father, and ask him to forgive us through Jesus Christ our Lord.

C: Lord God, our heavenly Father, 

I am a sinner and I have sinned against you,

not only in my words and actions, but also in my secret thoughts and desires

which I cannot fully know or understand, but which you know completely.

I am sorry that I have displeased you, and repent of the evil I have done.

For the sake of your dear Son, Jesus Christ our Lord,

have mercy on me,

forgive my sins,

and graciously help me in my weakness. 

Amen.

M: I ask each of you in the presence of God who searches the heart:

Do you confess that you have sinned, and do you repent of your sins.

C: I do.

M: Do you believe that Jesus Christ has redeemed you from all your sins, and do you desire forgiveness in his name?

C: I do.

M: Do you intend with the help of the Holy Spirit to live as in God’s presence, and to strive daily to lead a holy life, even as Christ has made you holy?

C: I do.

M: As you believe, let it be done for you.

As a called and ordained servant of the Word, I announce the grace of God to all of you. On behalf of my Lord Jesus Christ,  and by his command I forgive the sins of all of you who repent and believe, in the name of the Father and of the Son † and of the Holy Spirit.

C: Amen.

M: I invite you to receive the absolution individually. If you wish to do so, come forward as directed.

People may come forward and kneel at the altar.  The minister, laying hands on each person’s head, says the following or similar words to each in turn:

In  Jesus’ name your sins are forgiven.

Each person may respond in turn:    Amen.

M: The peace of the Lord be with you.

C: Amen.

The members of the congregation may exchange the peace with each other saying these or similar words:

The peace of the Lord.

(spoken)

M:  Lord, have mercy.

C:  Lord, have mercy.

M:  Christ, have mercy.

C:  Christ, have mercy.

M:  Lord, have mercy.

C:  Lord, have mercy.

♫(Sung as p.6 Supplement )

M: Glory to God in the highest.

♫ C: Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, among those with whom he is pleased.
We praise you, we bless you,
we worship you, we glorify you,
we give thanks to you for your great glory,
O Lord God, heavênly king,
God, the Father almighty.

O Lord, the only begotten Son,

Jesus Christ,

O Lord God, Lamb of God,
Son of the Father,
you take away the sin of the world; have mercy on us.
You take away the sin of the world; receive our prayer.

You are seated at the right hand of God the Father;
have mercy on us.
For you alone are holy,
you alone are Lord,
you alone, O Christ, with the Holy Spirit,
are most high in the glory of God the Father.  Amen.

M:  The Lord be with you.

C:  And also with you.

M: Let us pray .

Heavenly Father, whose Son instituted his holy supper as our Passover feast, and gave his life for us::

Unite us all by faith in him, so that we who eat his body and drink his blood may pass with him from death to life; through your Son Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, on God, now and for ever.

C:  Amen.

R: The First Reading for Maundy Thursday is written in chapter 12 of Exodus beginning at verse 1.

Some time later the Lord said to Moses and Aaron:

This month is to be the first month of the year for you.  Tell the people of Israel that on the tenth day of this month the head of each family must choose a lamb or a young goat for his family to eat.

If any family is too small to eat the whole animal, they must share it with their next-door neighbours.  Choose either a sheep or a goat, but it must be a one year old male that has nothing wrong with it.  And it must be large enough for everyone to have some of the meat.

Each family must take care of its animal until the evening of the fourteenth day of the month, when the animals are to be killed.  Some of the blood must be put on the two doorposts and above the door of each house where the animals are to be eaten.  That night the animals are to be roasted and eaten, together with bitter herbs and thin bread made without yeast.

Don’t eat the meat raw or boiled.  The entire animal, including its head, legs and insides, must be roasted.  Eat what you want that night, and the next morning burn whatever is left.

When you eat the meal, be dressed and ready to travel.  Have your sandals on, carry your walking stick in your hand,

and eat quickly.  This is the Passover Festival in honour of me, your Lord.

That same night I will pass through Egypt and kill the first-born son in every family and the first-born male of all animals.  I am the Lord, and I will punish the gods of Egypt.  The blood on the houses will show me where you live, and when I see the blood, I will pass over you.  Then you won’t be bothered by the terrible disasters I will bring on Egypt.

14Remember this day and celebrate it each year as a festival in my honour.

R: This is the Word of the Lord

C: Thanks be to God

R:  The Psalm is Psalm 116

1I love you, LORD! You answered my prayers.

C: 2You paid attention to me, and so I will pray to you as long as I live. 

R: 12What must I give you, LORD, for being so good to me?

C: 13I will pour out an offering of wine to you, and I will pray in your name because you have saved me.

R: 14I will keep my promise to you when your people meet.

C: 15You are deeply concerned when one of your loyal people faces death.

R: 16I worship you, LORD, just as my mother did, and you have rescued me from the chains of death.

C: 17I will offer you a sacrifice to show how grateful I am, and I will pray.

R:18I will keep my promise to you when your people 19gather at your temple in Jerusalem.

C: Shout praises to the LORD!

C: Glory to the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit,

As it was in the beginning is now and will be for ever.  Amen.

R: The Second Reading is written in chapter 11 of First Corinthians beginning at verse 23.

R: I have already told you what the Lord Jesus did on the night he was betrayed.  And it came from the Lord himself.

He took some bread in his hands.  Then after he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is given for you.  Eat this and remember me.”

After the meal, Jesus took a cup of wine in his hands and said, “This is my blood, and with it God makes his new agreement with you.  Drink this and remember me.”

The Lord meant that when you eat this bread and drink from this cup, you tell about his death until he comes.

R: This is the Word of the Lord

C: Thanks be to God

M: The holy gospel is written in chapter 13 of the Gospel according to St. John, beginning at verse 1.

C: Glory to you, O Lord, Lamb of God.

M: It was before Passover, and Jesus knew that the time had come for him to leave this world and to return to the Father.  He had always loved his followers in this world, and he loved them to the very end.

Even before the evening meal started, the devil had made Judas, the son of Simon Iscariot, decide to betray Jesus.

Jesus knew that he had come from God and would go back to God.  He also knew that the Father had given him complete power.  So during the meal Jesus got up, removed his outer garment, and wrapped a towel around his waist.

He put some water into a large bowl.  Then he began washing his disciples’ feet and drying them with the towel he was wearing.

But when he came to Simon Peter, that disciple asked, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?”

Jesus answered, “You don’t really know what I am doing, but later you will understand.”

“You will never wash my feet!”  Peter replied.

“If I don’t wash you,” Jesus told him, “you don’t really belong to me.”

Peter said, “Lord, don’t wash just my feet.  Wash my hands and my head.”

Jesus answered, “People who have bathed and are clean all over need to wash just their feet.  And you, my disciples, are clean, except for one of you.”

Jesus knew who would betray him.  That is why he said, “Except for one of you.”

After Jesus had washed his disciples’ feet and had put his outer garment back on, he sat down again.

Then he said:

Do you understand what I have done?  You call me your teacher and Lord, and you should, because that is who I am.  And if your Lord and teacher has washed your feet, you should do the same for each other.

I have set the example, and you should do for each other exactly what I have done for you.  I tell you for certain that servants are not greater than their master, and messengers are not greater than the one who sent them.  You know these things, and God will bless you, if you do them.

Now the Son of Man will be given glory, and he will bring glory to God.  Then after God is given glory because of him, God will bring glory to him, and God will do it very soon.

My children, I will be with you for a little while longer.  Then you will look for me, but you won’t find me.  I tell you just as I told the people,  “You cannot go where I am going.”

But I am giving you a new command.  You must love each other, just as I have loved you.  If you love each other, everyone will know that you are my disciples.

M: This is the gospel of the Lord.

C: Praise to you, O Christ, Lamb of God.

C: We believe in one God,  the Father, the Almighty,

maker of heaven and earth,

of all that is, seen and unseen.

We believe in one Lord,

Jesus Christ, the only Son of God, eternally begotten of the Father,

God from God, Light from Light,

true God from true God,

begotten not made,

of one being with the Father;

through him all things were made.

For us* and for our salvation he came down from heaven,

was incarnate of the Holy Spirit and the Virgin Mary and became truly human. 

For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate;

he suffered death and was buried. 

On the third day he rose again in accordance with the Scriptures;

he ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father. 

He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead, and his kingdom will have no end.

We believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life, who proceeds from the Father and the Son,

who with the Father and the Son is worshipped and glorified,

who has spoken through the prophets. 

We believe in one holy catholic** and apostolic church.

We acknowledge one baptism for the forgiveness of sins.

We look for the resurrection of the dead,

and the life of the world to come.  Amen.  

* This means: us human beings

** or: Christian; ‘Catholic’ here means ‘universal’

With deep humility, O Lord,

LHS 848      CAL 293

George Henry Trabert 1843- 1931 (1922), alt.

1. With deep humility, O Lord,

we come before your face;

we are unworthy, but your Word

assures us of your grace.

 

2. This sacrament you have prepared

in which your love shines forth;

it shows how richly you have cared

for your redeemed on earth.

 

3. Here we receive, through bread and wine,

your body and your blood;

we are refreshed by grace divine

through this most precious food.

 

4. This is a wondrous mystery,

but we believe your Word;

all who confess their sins will see

how you give life, O Lord.

Offering Prayer

M: Thank you heavenly Father that you have rescued us, your people. Lead us to follow the example of humble service given by your Son, our Lord Jesus Christ. Help us to overcome our natural desires to want to be important and to be served.

Strengthen us for loving service through our Lord’s body and blood in this sacrament.

C: Amen.

Communion Liturgy

M: The Lord be with you.

♫ C: And also with you.

M: Lift up your hearts.

♫ C: We lift them up to the Lord.

M: Let us give thanks to the Lord.

♫ C: For that is fitting and right.

M: It is indeed right and good, Lord God, holy Father, that we should at all times and in all places give thanks to you, through Jesus Christ our Lord.

For he has taken upon himself our sin, that we being dead to sin, should live to righteousness. Therefore, with angels and archangels, and with all the company of heaven, we adore and praise your glorious name:

♫ C: Holy, holy, holy, Lord God of hosts; heaven and earth are full of your glory. Hosanna in the highest.  Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.  Hosanna in the highest.

C: Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as in heaven.  Give us today our daily bread.  Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us.  Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

C: For the kingdom, the power, and the glory are yours now and for ever.  Amen.

M: Our Lord Jesus Christ, on the night when he was betrayed, took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, and said, Take and eat; this is † my body, which is given for you.  Do this in remembrance of me.

In the same way he took the cup after the supper, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, and said, Drink of it, all of you; this is † my blood of the new covenant, which is shed for you for the forgiveness of sins.  Do this as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.

M: The peace of the Lord be with you always.

♫C: Amen.

C: ♫O Christ, Lamb of God,

you take away the  sin of the world;

have mercy on us.

  O Christ, Lamb of God,

  you take away the sin of the   world;

  have mercy on us.

O Christ, Lamb of God,

 you take away the sin of the world;

 grant us your peace.

COMMUNION INVITATION

M: Every time we eat this bread and drink this cup
we proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes.

C: Thanks be to God.

M: Come, everything is ready.

When the minister and his assistants give the bread and the cup they say:

Take and eat, this is the body of Christ, given for you.

Take and drink, this is the blood of Christ, shed for you for the forgiveness of sins.

M:  The body of our Lord Jesus Christ, and his holy precious blood, strengthen and preserve you in body and soul to life eternal.

Go in † peace.

C: Amen.

M: Let us pray.

Lord our God, send down your rich blessing on us as we remember the suffering and death of your Son. Grant us pardon and comfort, so that we may be assured of our eternal salvation. We ask this through Jesus Christ our Lord.
C: Amen.

M: The God of love and peace† be with you.

C: Amen.

The altar appointments and cloths are removed as the Psalm is read. 

As the altar is stripped, the lights are dimmed.

The congregation may remain for a time in silent meditation.

The congregation leaves in silence.

 


Leave a comment

Categories